CILT Logo Gradient1 The Scottish Region Website

The Scottish Region AGM 2005 - Tuesday 26 April 2005

Mr. Cyril Bleasdale, OBE with the scholarship prize winners d

Mr. Cyril Bleasdale, OBE with Adam Priestley (left) and Edward Ogbonnaya (right) after presenting their scholarship prizes, in front of the special train at Bo'ness.

© John G. Fender 2011

The 6th Scottish Region Annual General Meeting was held on Tuesday 26th April 2005 at the Bo'ness & Kinneil Railway. After soup and sandwiches in the station buffet, the formal part of the evening began with the Chairman, John Yellowlees thanking those present for their attendance and presenting his report of the years' activities. Brief reports were also presented by John Fender (Vice Chairman), Graham Atkins (Secretary) and Stewart Dick (Treasurer).

The Chairman then asked Brian Flanagan who organized this year's scholarship competition to give a brief introduction to the competition before calling on the Director-General of the CILT International Council, Cyril Bleasdale OBE to present the scholarships to the winners. This years winners are Edward Ogbonnaya of Heriot Watt University (Logistics Scholarship winner) and Adam Priestley of Napier University (Transport Scholarship winner).

In addition to the scholarship cheques, both winners were presented with a pack donated by CalMac, the longstanding operator of Clyde and Hebrides ferry services, containing a book by Ian McCrorie (published in 2001 to mark 150 years of MacBrayne Shipping on the "Royal Road to the Isles") and tickets for a trip on a west coast of Scotland ferry. Additionally First ScotRail provided a pair of First Class tickets valid on their services between any pair of stations in Scotland over the next year.

CalMac also generously provided a pack containing tickets for a trip on a west coast of Scotland ferry for all the candidates and copies of the book marking 150 years of MacBrayne shipping for each non-winning entrant for the scholarship. Finally, as part of "Any Other Business", Professor Alan McKinnon said a few words about Heriot-Watt's new MSc course. This concluded the formal business of the AGM and the members then boarded a special train for a trip along the line. Returning to Bo'ness, members were given a chance to look around the exhibition and were able to have a look at some of the items not normally seen by the public.

The special CILT train at Birkhill station.d

The CILT train at Birkhill station during the excurson on the Bo'ness & Kinneil Railway that was part of the AGM.

© John G. Fender 2011

Bo'ness station has been created using a mixture of buildings from other locations and ones designed for the museum. The line runs to Birkhill Station, adjacent to the Fire Clay mine via Kinneil Station. The museum has a selection of steam and diesel locomotives, including North British Railway no 256 "Glen Douglas" built Glasgow 1913 and London & North Eastern Railway's No. 246 "Morayshire", Caledonian Railway 0-4-4T number 419, built at St. Rollox in Glasgow in 1907; North British Railway 0-6-0 "C" Class number 673 "Maude", also built in Glasgow but in 1891. Diesels include a British Rail Class 8 shunter, and locomotives from classes 20, 25, 27 and 47. There are also numerous industrial locomotives. There is also an extensive collection of coaches and wagons to be seen and there are many pieces of rolling stock undergoing restoration work. A notable project nearing completion is the restoration of the last surviving Swindon diesel multiple-unit from the type that operated the Glasgow-Edinburgh and Glasgow-Ayr routes from 1957.

The Scottish Region would like to thank John Burnie, Margaret Haynes, John, Jim Summers, Stuart Sellar and everyone else of the SRPS who made the evening so enjoyable; CalMac and First ScotRail for their support for the Scholarship winners and Cyril Bleasdale OBE for presenting the prizes.

Report by John Fender.


The CILT Logo is a registered trademark of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport
Unless otherwise stated, site and contents © John G. Fender 1997 - 2023
Site designed & maintained by John G. Fender